Her: Not quite judgement day ….

Well, I’ve had another 2 scans since my last post here.  Not sure why, but the doctor rather than a nurse did my scan on Monday (8 Feb).  This showed a developing follicle in the right ovary which had previously shown no activity whatsoever.  So a follicle count of 3 which seemed to be enough for the doctor to suggest that I come in for another scan today.

With all the scans I have been having, I have developed what seems to be an irritation/skin allergy between my legs which I thought most likely to be caused by the latex which covers the ultrasound probe.  In fact, I was in quite a bit of discomfort by Monday afternoon!  I really didn’t want to risk having that experience again so mentioned it to the nurse before today’s scan so that she could use a non-latex probe covering .  I think that’s done the trick!

The scan today showed that I now only had one follicle in my left ovary and this along with the one in my right ovary were continuing to grow.  It is a mystery what happened to the third follicle but in any case, the remaining 2 follicles had grown enough for the nurse to say that it was worthwhile for me to come in on 12 Feb for what would definitely be the final scan.  With every scan I have been having, my womb lining has been getting thicker which is a positive sign that my ovaries have been active. 

I only had 300 IU of Gonal-F left so had to order yet more today.   After my scan, we were sent back to the waiting area and wait for another nurse to call us.  We assumed that this was so that she could arrange for the drugs to be ordered and book us in for the last scan.

Well, we were called in by the nurse who was accompanied by one of the doctors.  This nurse told us that they had decided that we should cancel our cycle as the doctors felt that my ovaries simply hadn’t responded enough despite me being on the highest dose of Gonal-F.   After leaving the ultrasound room with more hope than I had when I entered it, only to have that hope dashed so abruptly soon afterwards, I started to weep. 

The nurse said that if we insisted, we could continue another 2 days but the doctors really didn’t think it was worth it.  I was too sad to do anything other than to nod at what the nurse was saying.  My husband spoke and asked that we continue.  The nurse left the room to speak to the consultant before coming back and confirming that we could do so just to see what the scan on 12 Feb showed.

As we wait for judgement day, I reflect on all those stories of patients who have fought against the odds despite doctors telling them to prepare for the worst.  Will my story be one of those or will it end in tears?

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment